The wooden church of St Michael the Archangel in Ladomirová, near Svidník, was built in 1742 without the use of a single nail, which helped it to gain UNESCO recognition (see also article about Wooden churches in Slovakia).
As with many other churches in the area, a characteristic feature is the emphasis on the number three. The church is divided into three sections – the babinec (the area where women used to sit and pray), the nave (the area assigned for men) and the altar.
The church was initially Greek Catholic but later became Eastern Orthodox. It was damaged during WWII and restored in 1946, only to require further work after being struck by a falling tree 11 years later. Peter Kováč contributed to this article.