These articles were published in the Spectacular Slovakia travel guide, published annually by The Slovak Spectator since 1996. The latest editions can be obtained from our online shop.



Skalica churches

    
 
 photo: Chris Togneri

The Jesuit Church and Monastery: built between 1693 and 1724, the church is today characterised by its dour and intimidating - yet nonetheless attractive - facade. Two towers at each end of the front jut above the street to give Skalica one of its signature features. Jesuits first came to Skalica in 1660 and two years later opened a secondary school. In 1773, however, they had their order annulled and left, clearing the way for the Paulist order to move in. Today the church is owned by the state.

The Parish Church of St. Michael: on the main square, it was built from 1450 to 1470. The interior is Gothic, and the tower has a renaissance arcade. Next to the church is the Charnel House of St. Ann, built at the end of the 14th century.

The Church and Monastery of the Merciful Brethren: built in the 17th century as an Evangelical church, it was first inhabited by the Jesuits and later still by the Carmelites. The Merciful Brethren moved in around 1800 and stayed until 1950. During their 150 years in town, the Brethren became know for their self-sacrificial ways and humanitarian deeds. They cared for the sick, gave medicines to locals, provided shelter to the homeless, and offered spiritual guidance to anyone seeking it.

The Church and Monastery of the Franciscans: the Franciscans settled in Skalica in the early 15th century and began building the church in 1467. The Gothic nave was consecrated in 1484. The interior is decorated in the baroque style and dates back to the 18th century. A theological school established here in 1561 was home to the town’s largest library, which in 1950 had over 8,000 volumes. Today the district archives and an art school occupy the grounds.

The House for the Destitute: a Gothic building built in 1431 to house the needy. The adjoining Chapel of St Elizabeth is vaulted and designed in the late renaissance style.

The Little Church of St. Urban: built in the 18th century in the vineyard area just outside town, the miniature church is dedicated to St Urban, the patron saint of wine-makers.

- Chris Togneri


These articles and related information were published in Spectacular Slovakia 2002.


See also:

Make your comment to the article...